Professional Organization of Nursing Students (PONS)

PONS is a Registered Student Organization (RSO) that serves as the overarching student government for the undergraduate nursing cohorts, encompassing the Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (ABSN), 1st Year Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN1), and 2nd Year Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN2) cohorts. Representative from each cohort make up an Executive Board and Student Senate that deliberate on important issues and events that pertain to our undergraduate education, experience, and preparation to become Registered Nurses (RNs).

Students benefit from this organization in that it has a long-standing history in the School of Nursing and works as a unifying agent for the undergraduate cohorts. It is a place for students to coordinate projects, share common ideas, and work together towards building a more unified undergraduate nursing voice.

Contact Information

For more information about becoming involved, send an inquiry email to ponsuw@uw.edu.

2013-14 PONS Representatives

ABSN

BSN, Year 1

BSN, Year 2

Stephanie Bandyk (sbandyk@uw.edu) - President
Paula Piccione (piccione@uw.edu) - Vice President
Lauren Keeler (laurensk@uw.edu) - Treasurer
Hilary Tighe (htighe@uw.edu) - Secretary
Kelsey Gergen (krgergen@uw.edu) - CC Representative
Melanie An (melanie1@uw.edu) - SoN SC Representative
Whitney Galpin (wgalpin@uw.edu) - GPSS Representative

Eric Seitz (eseitz@uw.edu) - President
Rasheda Hatchett (rshatch@uw.edu) - Vice President
Jerald Aranas (jerald30@uw.edu) - Treasurer
Mercedes McClure (mlem07@uw.edu) - Secretary
Troy Henley (henlet@uw.edu) - CC Representative
Ashley Thueson (ashthue@uw.edu) - SoN SC Representative
Peter Geoghegan (peterg13@uw.edu) - ASUW Representative
Nathan Dreesman (nathand1@uw.edu) - President
Kiera Criss (crissk@uw.edu) - Vice President
Michelle Merman (mhherman@uw.edu) - Treasurer
Jordan Asher (asherj@uw.edu) - Secretary
Grier Phillips (gaphilli@uw.edu) - CC Representative
Justin Duque (duquej@uw.edu) - CC Representative
Adrianna Bernal (abernal1@uw.edu) - SoN SC Representative
Alex Truzzi (atruzzi@uw.edu) - ASUW Representative

Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing Cohort (ABSN)

The ABSN RSO is made up of the individual student government representatives of the ABSN cohort. It works to represent the needs of ABSN students in the Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS), School of Nursing Curriculum Committee (CC), School of Nursing Student Council (SONSC), and to work on projects internal to the ABSN cohort. ABSN representatives also serve on PONS as a means to represent their cohort.

Students benefit from this organization in that it is a pipeline to make their individual cohort needs known, have a voice with Faculty and Staff in the School of Nursing (SoN), have a means of communicating funding issues to the Dean of the SoN as well as the Provost Advisory Committee for Students (PACS), connect with the greater UW community, and grow individually and corporately as a cohort.


1st Year Bachelor of Science in Nursing Cohort (BSN1)

The BSN1 RSO is made up of the individual student government representatives of the BSN1 cohort. It works to represent the needs of BSN1 students in the Associated Student of the University of Washington (ASUW), School of Nursing Curriculum Committee (CC), School of Nursing Student Council (SONSC), and to work on projects internal to the BSN1 cohort. BSN1 representatives also serve on PONS as a means to represent their cohort.

Students benefit from this organization in that it is a pipeline to make their individual cohort needs known, have a voice with Faculty and Staff in the SoN, have a means of communicating funding issues to the Dean of the SoN as well as the Provost Advisory Committee for Students (PACS), connect with the greater UW community, and grow individually and corporately as a cohort.


2nd Year Bachelor of Science in Nursing Cohort (BSN2)

The BSN2 RSO is made up of the individual student government representatives of the BSN2 cohort. It works to represent the needs of BSN2 students in the Associated Student of the University of Washington (ASUW), School of Nursing Curriculum Committee (CC), School of Nursing Student Council (SONSC), and to work on projects internal to the BSN2 cohort. BSN2 representatives also serve on PONS as a means to represent their cohort.

Students benefit from this organization in that it is a pipeline to make their individual cohort needs known, have a voice with Faculty and Staff in the SoN, have a means of communicating funding issues to the Dean of the SoN as well as the Provost Advisory Committee for Students (PACS), connect with the greater UW community, and grow individually and corporately as a cohort.