Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

Faculty and Alumni to be inducted into STTI Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame


Date: February 25, 2013
Media Contact: Ashley Wiggin,, 206-221-2456

Two School of Nursing Faculty members will be among the 19 nurse researchers to be inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International’s (STTI) International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame. The Honor Society of Nursing will induct Margaret Heitkemper, chair and professor, Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems, and Nancy Woods, dean emeritus and professor, Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems, into the hall of fame during the 24th International Nursing Research Congress in Prague, Czech Republic, this July.

Also included in the inductees are two School of Nursing alumnae, Karen Aroian, ’88 PhD and Kathryn Lee, ’77 MN,’86 PhD as well as Ann E. Kurth, affiliate professor in the department of Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems.

Created in 2010, the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame recognizes nurse researchers who have achieved significant and sustained national or international recognition and whose research has improved the profession and the people it serves.

“This year’s International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame inductees come from six countries and 11 U.S. states,” says STTI President Suzanne Prevost, PhD, RN, COI. “Their research projects will be shared through the Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library online so that nurses everywhere can benefit from their discoveries and insights into patient outcomes, health care policies, and much more.”

The award presentation is sponsored by Wiley-Blackwell. To register for the International Nursing Research Congress, visit To view a list of past inductees, visit

2013 Honorees for International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame


Karen Aroian, PhD, RN, FAAN                                                                            
Chatlos Endowed Professor and Director of Research
University of Central Florida, College of Nursing
Theta Epsilon Chapter, Orlando, FL

Victoria L. Champion, PhD, RN, FAAN
Distinguished Professor and Executive Associate Dean for Research
Indiana University, School of Nursing
Alpha Chapter, Indianapolis, IN

Barbara J. Daly, PhD, RN, FAAN
Case Western Reserve University, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
Alpha Mu Chapter, Cleveland, OH

Sandra B. Dunbar, DSN, RN, FAAN, FAHA
Charles Howard Candler Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Advancement
Emory University, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing
Alpha Epsilon Chapter, Atlanta, GA

Susan Gennaro, DSN, RN, FAAN
Dean and Professor
Boston College, William F. Connell School of Nursing
Alpha Chi Chapter, Chestnut Hill, MA

Margaret Heitkemper, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor and Chair
University of Washington, School of Nursing
Psi-at-Large Chapter, Seattle, WA

Ann Kurth, PhD, RN, CNM, FAAN
Professor and Executive Director
NYU College of Nursing Global Division
New York University, College of Nursing
Upsilon Chapter, New York, NY

Kathryn Lee, PhD, RN, CBSM, FAAN
Professor and Associate Dean for Research
James and Marjorie Livingston Endowed Chair in Nursing
University of California, San Francisco, School of Nursing
Alpha Eta Chapter, San Francisco, CA

Therese S. Richmond, PhD, CRNP, FAAN
Andrea B. Laporte Endowed Term Professor of Nursing
University of Pennsylvania, School of Nursing
Xi Chapter, Philadelphia, PA

Phyllis W. Sharps, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor, Associate Dean
Community and Global Programs
Johns Hopkins University, School of Nursing
Nu Beta Chapter, Baltimore, MD

JoEllen Wilbur, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor and Associate Dean for Research
Rush University, College of Nursing
Alpha Lambda Chapter and Gamma Phi Chapter, Chicago, IL

Ann Bartley Williams, EdD, RN, FAAN
Professor and Associate Dean
University of California, Los Angeles
Gamma Tau-at-Large Chapter, Los Angeles, CA

Nancy Fugate Woods, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor, Biobehavioral Nursing, and Dean Emeritus
University of Washington, School of Nursing
Psi-at-Large Chapter, Seattle, WA


Claire Rickard, PhD, RN

Intravascular Device Research Group
National Centre of Research Excellence in Nursing Interventions for Hospitalised Patients

Griffith Health Institute - Health Practice Innovation Program

Griffith University, School of Nursing & Midwifery
Phi Delta-at-Large Chapter, Brisbane, Australia


Sally Wai Chi Chan, PhD, RN, BSc, MSc
Professor and Head
Alice Lee Centre for Nursing Studies, National University of Singapore
Upsilon Eta Chapter, Singapore

South Africa:

Marie Poggenpoel, B, Art, et, Scien, M, Soc, Scien, PhD, RN
University of Johannesburg, Department of Nursing Science
Tau Lambda-at-Large Chapter, Johannesburg, South Africa

Laetitia C. Rispel, PhD
Head of the School of Public Health & Associate Professor
Faculty of Health Sciences, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg
Tau Lambda-at-Large Chapter, Johannesburg, South Africa

Republic of Korea:

Kyung Rim Shin, EdD, MEd, RN, FAAN
Ewha Womans University, College of Health Science, Division of Nursing Science
Lambda Alpha-at-Large Chapter, Seoul, Republic of Korea


Yeur-Hur Lai, PhD, RN
National Taiwan University, College of Medicine, School of Nursing
Lambda Beta-at-Large Chapter, Taipei, Taiwan


The University of Washington School of Nursing is consistently a top-rated nursing school, according to U.S. News & World Report. Ranked No. 2 in research funding from the National Institutes of Health in 2011, the UW School of Nursing is a national and international leader in improving the health and well-being of individuals, families and communities. The school addresses society’s most pressing challenges in health care through innovative teaching, award winning research and community service. For more information, visit