Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

2012 Graduation ceremony honors students and faculty


Date: June 7, 2012
Media Contact: Ashley Wiggin,, 206-221-2456

Graduation 2012Graduation 2012The School of Nursing celebrated its annual graduation ceremony on Friday, June 8 in Meany Hall. The School of Nursing graduated 96 BSN students, 75 Masters and Certificate Program students, 15 PhDs and 30 DNPs. The school also honored faculty and students with excellence awards, outlined below.

2012 School of Nursing Excellence in Teaching Awards:
Vicky Hertig, senior lecturer, BNHS, and Sarah Shannon, associate professor, BNHS, will receive the Rheba de Tornyay Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award
Karen Hays, clinical assistant professor, FCN, will receive the Sandra Eyres Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award
--Other nominees for this award were: June Strickland, Elena Bosque, Phyllis Christianson, Ira Kantrowitz-Gordon, and Maggie Baker.
• June Strickland, associate professor, PCH, will receive the Excellence in Promoting Diversity through Teaching Award
--Other nominees for this award were Janet Lenart and David Allen.
Gaylene Altman, associate professor, BNHS, will receive the Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award
--Other nominees for this award were Mary Hanson, Rizza Cea, Phyllis Christianson, Shannon Latta, Susan Landis, Barb Plovie, Marte Hoffman, and Vicky Hertig.

The selection was made by a committee of undergraduate and graduate student representatives: Jason Ly - BSN, Elisabeth Lindley - MN, Jason Madrano - DNP, Christopher Imes – PhD. The decision was based on the nature of the supportive comments and the number of nominations for an individual faculty member.

2012 School of Nursing Student Convocation Awards:
Lisa Brodsky, Bachelor of Science in Nursing Distinguished Achievement Award
--Other nominees included: Carley Fletcher
Marjorie Kelley, Master of Science Outstanding Student Award
Rachael DeSouza, Master of Nursing Outstanding Student Award
Lauren Thorngate, Dissertation Award in Nursing Science
--Other nominees included: Delilah Bruskas, Robin Evans-Agnew, Christopher Imes, JaHun Kim, Katryna McCoy, Marie-Anne Sanon, and Yuqing Guo
Beth Whittaker, DNP Outstanding Student Award
--Other nominees included: Sarah Agtarap, Diana Elkenbaum, Shari Luchino, and Amy Winslow

Congratulations to all of our award winners and graduating students! Check out photos on our Facebook page (even if you don't have a Facebook account)!


The University of Washington School of Nursing is consistently a top-rated nursing school, according to U.S. News & World Report. Ranked No. 3 in research funding from the National Institutes of Health, the UW School of Nursing is a national and international leader in improving the health and well-being of individuals, families and communities. The school addresses society’s most pressing challenges in health care through innovative teaching, award winning research and community service. For more information, visit