Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation
dTC logodTC logo


The de Tornyay Center serves as a catalyst for promoting healthy aging through its support of research and education in the field of gerontology for the School of Nursing, the University of Washington, and the broader community.

Dr.Rheba de Tornyay, EdD, RN, FAANDr.Rheba de Tornyay, EdD, RN, FAAN

Coming Up!

Calendar buttonCalendar button




GIP logo for the side barGIP logo for the side bar

dTC website headerdTC website header





2008-2009 Scholars














Below is a list of our scholarship recipients for the 2008-2009 academic year and their research topics.  By clicking on the students' research topics, you will be linked to their brief Powerpoint slides that were presented at our Healthy Aging Scholars Presentations and Reception.

Program Student Topic Faculty Mentor

Myrene C. McAninch Undergraduate Scholarship

Ann Lin Designing a Survey to Assess Frequency, Challenges, and Effects of Proper Vision Correction in Older Adults Barbara Cochrane

Germaine Krysan Undergraduate Scholarship

Daniel Moore African American Hospice Use:  Teaching Health Professionals to Teach Their Patients about Hospice

Raleigh A. Bowden & Ardith Doorenbos

Healthy Aging Master's Scholarship

Michelle Meako Orthopedic Nurses' Knowledge about Delirium and Related Risk Factors in Older Hospitalized Patients at Risk for Developing Delirium Hilaire Thompson

Healthy Aging Master's Scholarship

Betty Vanderzee A Qualitative Study of the Impact of the Caregiver Role on Lives of Informal Caregivers of Elderly Chinese Immigrants Jenny Hsin-Chun Tsai

Germaine Krysan Doctoral Scholarship

 Li-Ching Lu Taiwanese Older Adults and Healthcare Providers' View of Depression and Depression Prevention  Doris Boutain

Healthy Aging Doctoral Scholarship

 Ellen McGough Executive Function, Physical Performance and IADL Function in Sedentary Older Adults with Mild Cognitive Impairment  Linda Teri


For more information about our scholarship opportunities:

Undergraduate Scholarships | Graduate Scholarships


Previous scholars are listed by the academic year that their scholarship was awarded:

2010-2011 | 2009-2010 | 2008-2009 

2007-2008 | 2006-2007 |2005-2006 | 2004-2005 | 2003-2004 | 2002-2003 | 2001-2002 | 2000-2001 | 1999-2000