Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

dTC website headerdTC website header





2007-2008 Scholars












Pictured are de Tornyay Center and Aljoya Healthy Aging Scholars at our May 2008 Scholars Presentations and Reception event

Below is a list of our scholarship recipients for the 2007-2008 academic year and their research topics.  By clicking on the students' research topics, you will be linked to their brief Powerpoint slides that were presented at our Healthy Aging Scholars Presentations and Reception.



Current Scholars

Program Student Topic Faculty Mentor

Judith Fornia Under- graduate Scholarship

Susan G. Lee Supporting clients and families in transition to assisted living Basia Belza

Leisure Care Under-graduate Scholarship

Sandra Lester An analysis of the health promotion perceptions and activities of early stage dementia family caregivers Rebecca Logsdon

Healthy Aging Under- graduate Scholarship

Rianne Reichner Comparing families' and nurses' experiences: A content analysis of comments on ICU end-of-life care Sarah Shannon

Germaine Krysan Masters Scholarship

Charlotte Green An analysis of clinic nurses' knowledge, attitudes and experience with advance directives and end of life planning Suzanne Sikma

Healthy Aging Masters Scholarship

Elisa Roth Implementing a community-based exercise program in congregate meal sites: Perspectives from site managers Basia Belza

Healthy Aging Masters Scholarship

Deanna Toloudis Older adult perceptions of the physical activity maintenance process Basia Belza

Healthy Aging Masters Scholarship

Tatiana Sadak Evidence-based Nursing Dementia Education and Acute-care Resources (ENDEAR) Patty Betrus

Myrene C. McAninch Doctoral Scholarship

Akiko Kondo The relationship between length of hospital stay and outcomes after discharge from hip fracture surgery in Japan and US Brenda Zierler


For more information about our scholarship opportunities:

Undergraduate Scholarships | Graduate Scholarships


Previous scholars are listed by the academic year that their scholarship was awarded:

2010-2011 | 2009-2010 | 2008-2009 

2007-2008 | 2006-2007 |2005-2006 | 2004-2005 | 2003-2004 | 2002-2003 | 2001-2002 | 2000-2001 | 1999-2000