Staff Council


The Staff Advisory Council (SAC) was established in 1987 to help foster relations between staff members and inform staff of upcoming changes and/or activities within School of Nursing (SoN).  SAC was renamed Staff Council (SC) in 2011.


The Staff Council (SC) is an elected body of staff members within the School of Nursing whose primary objective is to facilitate the consideration of staff views relating to School of Nursing governance and leadership activities and to provide resources and information to staff members on productivity, professional development,and community building opportunities.

Note: The SoN and Staff Council recognize the role of the Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Local 925 as the bargaining representative of classified bargaining unit staff. The Staff Council is not intended to replicate union representation with respect to matters within the scope of its representation. Staff Council Bylaws may be viewed here.


Staff Council consists of representatives from each department and/or unit within the SoN.  Representatives serve two year terms.

Staff Council Membership: 2013-2014

Student and Academic Services (SAS)

  • Adrian Acosta

Biobehavioral Nursing & Health Systems (BNHS)

  • Jason Bolt
  • Sarah Zangrillo

Continuing Nursing Education (CNE)

  • Elizabeth Watt


  • Glory Visario, Co-Chair

Family & Child Nursing (FCN)

  • Aaron Haley, Treasurer
  • Ashley Scharbach, Chair

Finance & Administration

  • (Vacant)

Academic Human Resources

  • Julie Fisk

Office of Nursing Research (ONR)

  • Ernie Tolentino

Psychosocial & Community Health (PCH)

  • Mark Ondrake
  • (Vacant)

Technology Innovations in Education and Research (TIER)

  • (Vacant)

Shared Leadership Council (SLC) Representatives

  • Jaime Jenkins
  • Crystal Welliver


The SC Bylaws can be downloaded and reviewed here.  Comments or questions can be sent to